Cheryl Praeger

Cheryl E Praeger is Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of Western Australia. She researches Group Theory and Combinatorics, in her role as Senior Honorary Research Fellow.

Professor Praeger is one of Australia’s leading mathematicians. She was appointed a member of the Order of Australia for her research and service to mathematics in the country. Many of her roles and awards have marked a first time for a woman: President of the Australian Mathematical Society (1992-1994), and Lyle Medal of the Australian Academy of Science (2013, first awarded in 1935).

Professor Praeger was also the first pure mathematician, and the first Western Australian recipient of the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science (2019). She is also a member of the Committee for Freedom and Responsibility in Science, International Science Council (2019-2022).

Sign up to our eNews
Be the first to hear about WSFB news and events